Today was a pretty cool day.  I’m in Snowmass, CO where I just finished giving a lecture at the summer conference for the Wilderness Medical Society.  I was very honored when I was asked to speak, and felt a lot of responsibility for the quality of the presentation.

The topic of the lecture was “Communicating the Wilderness Through Photography” and went for about 2.5 hrs.

 

I started with the fundamentals like iso, f-stop and shutter speed, and then moved into lots of tricks that the docs and researchers could use in their day to day experience to make better images for use in abstracts, presentations, papers, etc…

We talked about technical challenges like electronics in the back country, power issues, environmental issues like wet, hot, dust, and cold, and photo topics like the use of  macro lenses, light tables, compression with long lenses, proper use of wide lenses, color theory, rules of thirds, natural light, strobes, etc, etc, etc…

The last 2o min of the lecture I think was the most profitable.  I showed a bunch of images created in the “wilderness context” and we spent the time dissecting the images trying to parse out the key points that made them interesting.  It was really cool.

explaining the inverse relationship between f-stop and shutter speed

If you’ve never heard of the society, the WMS is a pretty cool crowd and hosts some of the smartest leaders in wilderness medicine (a big passion of mine.)  It is certainly humbling to be at these conferences and listening to the crazy exploits of these nutty docs.  A very cool scene indeed.

describing the use of f stop and shutter speed

For my lecture, I had a really good turn out and feel that it went well.

The dirty little secret about teaching is that the teacher often walks away with more than the students.  Taking the time to sit down and prepare to teach really makes you re-examine what you know about a subject.  Forces you to look at things you had long discarded and approach the basics with a fresh perspective.  I truly enjoy teaching.

 

explaining that all light should be treated equally

Thanks so much to the WMS for having me.  I feel very grateful for the opportunity.

 

