Paul from Panopticon

This year for the holidays I decided to have a bunch of my fine art images from the archives  printed as gifts.

Hillary is flumoxed after all the photoshop work I had her do...

To do so, I needed to find a new lab (as the economy has wiped out most of the good pro labs here in Boston.)   About 10 years ago, I had a company called Panopticon do some B&W work for me.  At the time, they were located in Boston near Boston University.  Our paths drifted apart, until sometime in the summer when the owner Paul stopped me on the street after seeing the truck.  He told me that they had moved, and that they were now only about 3 miles from my house.

Printing both color and BW images...

I have been looking for a  project to try them out, and this seemed like a good fit.  Paul is a master printer, and specializes in museum quality large format digital as well as traditional printing.

Large test prints from my colored clay series hanging in their shop...

Working with Paul and his crew has been an outstanding experience.  They bent over backwards in order to fill all the last minute prints I kept asking them to do.  Not only did they do my printing, most of which was at least 36″ wide, but they matted and framed it as well.

Mark can't quite figure me out...

Over the years, I have never really been interested in the fine art side of photography, always tending to look at myself as a commercial artist.  But I have to say, working with Paul on this project, and seeing some of my work (especially the large panos) has really inspired me to look with new eyes at what it is I do for a living.  Who knows  where this new perspective will take the work….

Thanks to everyone over at Panopticon!  Looking forward to doing more work together!

Paul finishing some last minute matting from my order...

