Rabbit loving the train station...

Rabbit loving the train station...

This month I was asked to be a guest lecturer down in Washington at the D.C. Shootoff, so last thurs night Rabbit and I headed on down.

We would normally fly down to D.C. from Boston, but because we had to shoot till late on Thursday, and we had to be back in Boston early Sat morning, the only transportation we could get was the red-eye Amtrak.

gh2_8126

I actually like taking Amtrak, but that’s to NYC.  (and that’s the hi speed train called the Acela.)  Unfortunately, the only train that was running that late at night was the Regional, which takes 10 hours.  I figured, what the hell… it was better than driving, so we grabbed some tickets.

Can you tell I rode a train all night long....?

Can you tell I rode a train all night long....?

So here was our travel plan:  Depart Boston at 10pm, train all night long, arrive at 07:00, subway to the Navy League Building, hang all day, give our presentation, subway back to the Amtrak station, 10pm departure back to Boston, 07:30 arrival, at our location on Sat at 09:00.  (yes, we are insane…)

Train food....

Train food....

The train proved to be quite pleasant.  We brought some beer and some sandwiches, and were able to have a relaxing time.  I was also able to get a ton of work done on the computer which was nice.  (I also was able to get some solid zzzz’s thanks to Ambien.)

Once in D.C., we grabbed the subway right to our location.  I will post tomorrow about the day, so stay tuned.

D.C. Metro Station...

D.C. Metro Station...

