Morning Briefing

Morning Briefing

In preparation for some personal work I am interested in doing on wildland firefighters, Richard and I flew out to Salida, CO to become certified as basic woodland firefighters. With this certification (called a “Red Card”) we would then have the basic fundimental knowledge to allow us to work on a wildfire.

My Squad

My Squad

The four day S-130/190 class was held against the backdrop of the Western Slope at the Colorado Fire Camp. I was fortunate enough to be chosen as squad leader for my squad, which was a fantastic experience. The class was fairly straight forward, covering all sorts of crazy fire fighting material. The biggest kicker of all was the “pack test.” This was a 3 mile (forced march) while carrying 45lbs on your back. The test had to be completed in under 45min, and it nearly put me in the ground. (I did however manage to beat Richard across the line even though he is 10 years younger.)

Class Photo

Class Photo

I am always amused at how there is no original idea. Once we got out to the camp, we learned that a photographer from National Geographic named Mark Thiessen had taken the class the year before, got his certification, and had just published his work in the August issue of the magazine.

Mark’s work is certainly amazing and is well worth your time. You can also check out the August issue on news stands. I can only hope our images will be as breath taking! Kudos Mark!!!

